The Silvae and the Thebaid


His occasional poems in five books

Book I To Stella

Book II To Melior

Book III To Pollius

Book IV To Marcellus

Book V To Abascantus


His epic of the Seven Against Thebes

Book I The two brothers: the origins of the conflict

Book II The Argive embassy: the ambush

Book III Argos prepares for war

Book IV The Argives approach Thebes

Book V Hypsipyle’s tale

Book VI The funeral of Archemorus

Book VII The battle begins: the death of Amphiaraus

Book VIII The death of Tydeus

Book IX The deaths of Hippomedon and Parthenopaeus

Book X  The death of Capaneus

Book XI The duel: the deaths of Eteocles and Polynices

Book XII Theseus kills Creon, and makes peace

Translated by A. S. Kline © 2012, 2013 All Rights Reserved

This work may be freely reproduced, stored and transmitted, electronically or otherwise, for any non-commercial purpose. Conditions and Exceptions apply.

Last Modified 15th January 2013