Ovid: The Metamorphoses

A Complete English Translation and Mythological Index

With selected illustrations by Hendrik Goltzius (The Netherlands, 1558-1617) courtesy of LACMA.

Ovid - The Metamorphoses - Cover

I change but I cannot die.

Shelley, 'The Cloud' line 76.

Book I (Chaos, Four Ages, Flood, Daphne, Io, Syrinx, Phaethon)

Book II (Phaethon’s fall, Callisto, Coronis, Aglauros, Europa)

Book III (Cadmus, Actaeon, Semele, Tiresias, Narcissus, Pentheus)

Book IV (Pyramus, Leucothoe, Salmacis, Ino, Cadmus, Perseus)

Book V (Perseus, Calliope, Proserpine, Arethusa, The Pierides)

Book VI (Arachne, Niobe, Marsyas, Procne, Philomela, Boreas)

Book VII (Jason, Medea, Minos, The Plague, Myrmidons, Procris)

Book VIII (Scylla, Daedalus, Icarus, Meleager, Philemon and Baucis)

Book IX (Hercules, Alcmene, Iole, Galanthis, Dryope,Byblis, Iphis)

Book X (Orpheus, Pygmalion, Myrrha, Venus and Adonis, Atalanta)

Book XI (Death of Orpheus, Midas, Peleus, Ceyx, Alcyone, Aesacus)

Book XII (Rumour, Cycnus, Caeneus, Lapiths and Centaurs, Achilles)

Book XIII (Ajax, Ulysses, Polyxena, Hecuba, Memnon, Galatea, Glaucus)

Book XIV (Scylla, Sibyl, Polyphemus, Circe, Picus, Pomona, Romulus)

Book XV (Pythagoras, Hippolytus, Cipus, Aesculapius, The Caesars)

Index A






The Text is fully hyper-linked to the Mythological index and vice versa. Each Book is arranged in paragraphs, with each paragraph headed by the corresponding line reference in the Latin text.

Translated by A. S. Kline © 2000 All Rights Reserved

This work may be freely reproduced, stored, and transmitted, electronically or otherwise, for any non-commercial purpose.

Last Modified 1st November 2011